If you cannot find what you are looking for....
Look within.
 

 If you cannot find what you are looking for....
Look within.
 

Magical

by Yangok on 2/26/2018

One of the reasons I chose Munay is that the facilitator David has that spark or light in his eyes that I've seen in ascended masters, like Yogananada. From there, I trusted my intuition and decided I had found the right center for me. What came to pass proved my intuition was right. Munay was more than what I'd hoped for!

Not only are the grounds immaculate, breathtaking and serene but the energy actually feels sacred and calm as suggested by its area--the Sacred Valley. The meals at Munay are so so so delicious and so so so satisfying, yet clean and healthy, whole and pure. But the most precious part about the Tambo is the staff! David, Luz and Bill and Muttley (the lovable dog there) created a warm, fun, lighthearted but deep and meaningful experience and environment that made all the guests, including myself, feel so at home. I've never felt so at home at a retreat center. During the ceremonies I always felt safe when David, Luz and Bill were around because of their lovely caring energies. 

The one thing I would suggest is paying for an extra day if possible after your last ceremony -- not only so you can rest up, get fully grounded and receive more detailed feedback on your experience, but so that you can get one more day of good, healthy eating in before you go back to airport and airline food.  If I could do it again, I would make that one adjustment. Having one more day of rest, reflection and processing with good healthy food to nourish the body would have been beneficial in hindsight.

Since I left Munay, I continue to miss it more and more, and the warmth, comfort, calm, peace and transformation I experienced there will be something I will always have and be grateful for.

Note from David. I am humbled by your beautiful comment Yangok, Ayahuasca works through me and that is what you recognised.

Change

by Nikki on 2/24/2018

If it doesn’t change you, it will no doubt wake you up

From the moment of my arrival at Munay Medicine I could feel the frequency all around me and I knew then that I was at a very special place. There was a reassuring calmness about it that centered me and a stillness that quietened my mind. A sacred energy then guided me along a breathtaking ten day journey of self discovery. Munay Medicine gave me the wings to fly by creating a safe and peaceful environment in which I could connect with the plant medicine. The San Pedro grounded my spirit deep into the earth and Ayahuasca gave me a profound awareness of myself that triggered feelings too deep and mysterious for words. If you are reading this now then you are one step closer to a possible life changing experience. If it doesn’t change you, it will no doubt wake you up. Let go and trust that David and Paradise will love you with a love that is more than love. I strongly urge you to go dance with their beautiful vibrations in the Sacred Valley and let the rhythm of the medicine set your soul free. 

(This review from Retreat Guru)

Magical

by Susan on 2/15/2018

Everything about my experience with Munay Medicine at the start of 2018 was serendipitous and magical. I spent 2016 being shaken, 2017 rapidly moving through an "ascension" ladder, and I somehow landed with David and Paradise to walk into 2018 (I arrived 2 Jan) to meet and experience the sacred plants for the first time.

I felt immediately welcomed and included in the Munay Medicine family. David and Paradise created a space where I felt comfortable and able to be my true self, which enabled the depth of my experience and awareness of myself within each journey. Everyone seeks Aya + San Pedro for their own reasons; mine were solely to deepen my awareness of myself and to try and more clearly understand my higher purpose and calling. Because the plants recognize what we each need, it's not for me to fill anyone's mind with my own experience of the plants, but I can say I felt 100% comfortable drinking the medicine and felt 100% safe in the experience and integration processing. David and Paradise were beautiful facilitators and allowed me to accept the experience as I was in it rather than feeling resistant to any part of the experience out of fear or apprehension.

I booked my experience within a family adventure and I believe I didn't fully grasp the depth of my experience until a couple weeks after when I returned home to Virginia, and I believe I'm still interpreting and leaning into the messages I received from my two journeys. I have accessed a depth of self I believe I was previously resisting and a realignment of Self that makes me feel as though I'm getting to know the power and truth of my soul. 

Munay Medicine is a beautiful and welcoming place to experience the plants and delve into one's awareness of Self. It's when you leave that you must recognize that awareness is the beginning - it's ultimately your actions that drive whatever life changes you're looking to implement. I hope you decide to embark on this journey with these beautiful people and I wish you the most meaningful experience.

Life Changing

by Ryah Silvestri on 1/5/2018

It’s been almost five months since I left Munay Medicine. I didn’t want or feel that I should write a review until I felt totally settled with my experience. I know now that I am ready… 

When I first arrived to Munay I was at the lowest point in my life. I was terribly unhappy with my professional life, I was riddled with self-esteem and confidence issues, and I had just broken up with the love of my life… I was completely lost! I didn’t see any light at the end of the “tunnel”, all I saw was devastation, fear, anxiety, and true sadness (or so I thought). On the way from the airport I broke down in tears as I explained to David why I had come, and his words of encouragement seemed to immediately settle my emotions. 

I will not share the details of my ceremonies, because as far as I’m concerned they are intimately unique to each individual person. I will share with you however, the profound and life-changing effects that shifting and eliminating negative energy will have on your life… I moved some very old and dark energy that I had no idea was effecting my life, and I can tell you, with every cell of my being, that I am re-born. 

The greatest lesson that I learned while with David, Luz, and Paradise was the importance of remembering that everything we need is already within us. When you’re searching for meaning, or light, or freedom, or peace… you only ever need to look within… “Source, God…” is within. After that realization I was able to understand the true importance of mindset… When you are cold you can be warm, hungry you can be full, sad you can be happy! 

I also learned a very important lesson about fear and how debilitating it can be! It can control our lives, make us shy away from our soul’s purpose, it can cripple our creativity, and ruin our relationships. Luckily, I had a little battle with fear during my retreat, and I can say with every part of my soul that I won! It was not easy, and definitely not rainbows and butterflies, but it was necessary to help cleanse my soul and allow me to be free from fear’s grasp. 

You do not come to Munay Medicine for a “good time”, you come here to heal, to learn, to grow and to become the person you were always meant to be! 

In the morning after a ceremony, David and I started to chat about what it was that I really wanted… What did I feel was my “soul’s purpose”? I explained to David that I had dreamed of growing a non-profit and had always been drawn to the concept of giving back. His words of encouragement and detailed questions sparked something in me! (If we can fast forward to January of 2018 I can humbly say that I am on my way to growing that purpose!  My organization is currently building its first Therapeutic Feeding Center in Bangladesh, on the border of Burma, for severely malnourished children who have fled from Genocide and living in the refugee camp). 

I wake up each day with love, light, and peace in my heart. Every morning and every night I listen to David’s guided meditation and I suggest everyone who is reading this to do the same! 

As I stated before, I had life-changing shift in energy… I feel more connected to the Universe, to myself, and to others than I ever did previously. Myself and the “love of my life” from the beginning of this story have rekindled our relationship and are getting married in August! But please remember that if you do not do the “work” that is necessary after you return from the retreat, you would have wasted such a gift! Mother Aya may show you the way, but you still have to get there on your own! 

Recommend

by CanadianR on 12/21/2017

I decided to visit Munay Medicine in very early November 2017. Truth be told, I wanted a place that didn’t look like it was filled with tree-hugging guests who were all trying to ‘find themselves’. Also, I wanted some nice accommodations and did not wish to be in the jungle. i came across Munay via the wonder of Google. I’m glad I did.

I really didn’t know what to expect. I’m a management consultant who thought ‘I need a break from reality and maybe this can be something I'd try’. When I told my friends about this, not one believed me. When they did believe me, they all convinced me not to go (full disclosure, they all perceive me as the 5-star hotel type..).

At Munay I had the chance to try both San Pedro and Ayahuasca. For me, the San Pedro was the ‘one thing’ that changed much for me. It helped me release so much emotional baggage from past partners that I didn’t really realize I had be holding onto all these years. Essentially, after a few hours of drinking the cactus juice, I began to think of past partners (for no apparently reason), and then came the emotional release through tears and laughter. My ayahuasca experience was pretty uneventful. I only did one of each.

The retreat centre is run by a gentleman named David who is exceptionally passionate about what he does. He is an honest, caring, and kind man who wants the best for his guests. He is genuine, and you will also realize this when you read other reviews about him. The centre is also staffed with dedicated young people who are there to ensure you have a wonderful experience. The location is in a valley near a river, but there’s not much else around. You can explore, and they do and will take you to several towns/villages, or wherever else you wish to go. When I found out that the meals were to be vegan, I rolled my eyes and thought ‘oh for Christ’s sake.. for real?’ (I have many food intolerances). Gotta say, was the best week of my life for food, and never felt better. I loved everything. Oh, and they will ensure any food issues/intolerances/dislikes/likes are attended to.

I left Munay earlier than expected due to other commitments, but I must say, it is with such respect and fondness that I look back on that experience. These people, David and his team, are not there to make a profit or a buck (but they should be!), they honestly are all about one’s spiritual journey and helping others.

Munay is a relatively young retreat centre, and unlike the other ones in the jungle that pack people in and market on youtube to make you think – you must go there and the jungle is the ONLY way to do AYA, I put forward this: Don’t buy into the marketing and hype – I would seriously give Munay a look (unless you really want to be in the jungle, packed like a sardine with 40 other people).

Munay was peaceful, it was tranquil, I relaxed, and enjoyed myself (aside from a loud frog at night and a bird that would annoy the hell outta me!). That being said, having a bit of ADHD, i get bored quite easily, and so, i’ll give some tips if you’re like me:

1. Bring yourself some books, some movies or whatever on your laptop or ipad. It’s nice to have that kinda break at times (there’s Wi-Fi all over the property, but it’s slow) 2-5mbps.
2. If you’re on any SSRI/SNRI or anything that increases seratonin re-uptake – stop it for weeks (yes, weeks) before you go. I stopped what I was on 10 days prior, and the Ayahuasca made me feel like I was going through typical SSRI withdrawal (I wasn’t even on an SSRI).
3. Give in to the experience, and make something of it.
4. Consider altitude sickness medication
5. Reach out to them ahead of time to plan for weather, travel, etc.

They are continually updating their website, and improving their offerings. I’d personally recommend people to go there, and I had no real complaints, aside from this damn frog that at night was so loud. One day, I will return, and settle the score with that frog.

I want to also note – I am by no means a tree-hugger, into spirituality, or into nature or all things natural. I am a city boy. You can have as much or as little ‘tree hugging’ nature-experience at any place. The great thing with Munay is – it’s all up to you.

I highly recommend. I wouldn’t go back anywhere else.

Where to begin.

by Tommy on 12/1/2017

Where do I begin? As David would probably answer, from the beginning.

I just recently returned from a 10 day retreat at Munay with David, Paradise and Luze. Oh, and how can I forget Muttley! I am still processing the life changing transformative experience and life, for me, has completely changed for the better. Its really difficult to express in words what one can only glean from experience. As I have said to those close to me, its like explaining a dream to someone and they will get the gist, but they won’t truly experience the dream as you did.

I can tell you, when I decide to do something or take interest in a subject, I research the bejesus out of it, and when it came to working with extremely powerful plant medicines, I took that up a notch. I scoured the internet, read several books, read reviews like the ones on Aya Advisor, etc. and finally settled on heading to Munay Medicine, and I am here to tell you, I made the right decision. Its a very intimate setting and your well-being is the main focus. They take their time to speak with you, get to know you, speak to you outside of the ceremonies and take a truly holistic approach to everything they do and you can tell that David and the entire staff truly care about you and want whats best for your well-being and comfort.

There are no shamans or dancing or song here. Its all about you and going within and focusing on your true self. You “clear the deck” with San Pedro and really tune into the abundance of love and power we each hold within and I believe its a great primer for the star of the show, Mother Aya. My apprehensions about taking Aya vanished the moment I got in the car with David at the airport. A calm came over me and I knew I had made the right decision to attend Munay and have David as my guide. Its funny now looking back on that arrival at the airport and meeting David to being dropped off on the last day; it truly was a magical time and has changed me in so many positive ways. I feel like a different person, I’m more calm and centered and I was told that I would carry Mother Aya with me forever and I have really started to believe now that I am back in the “rat race”.

Long story short, I could go on and on and gush about David, Paradise, Luze, the food, the surroundings, the ceremonies, the excursions, etc. etc. etc. If you’re like me and you research the hell out of everything and want peace of mind, this is the place. If you want comfortable surroundings, know you’re in good hands, use plant medicines on your terms and don’t need all the pomp and circumstance of shamans and song, then this is your place. They are truly respectful of these powerful medicines and they’re main mission is to assist you in your transformation and make sure you’re well taken care of during your time at Munay. And if this isn’t enough of a testimony, then perhaps this is, I am planning on sending my wife down on a retreat for several days with her friend, and then my wife and I are planning a trip down together to experience the plant medicines together some time in 2018. Don’t search any longer. This is the best luxury plant medicine retreat on the planet. Period.

My spiritual journey with Munay Medicine

by Grant Sharp on 9/26/2017

My spiritual journey with Munay Medicine created a profound and positive change physically, mentally, and spiritually. Issues from my past (some going back to early childhood I wasn't even aware of) have been purged from existence. Every relationship in my life is now operating on a deeper level I didn't know was possible. My thoughts and beliefs have paradigm shifted to a higher state of consciousness that has me perceiving and reacting to this reality in a highly desirable way. A journey like this lasts a lifetime and should be booked ASAPractical. Such a carefree trip from start to finish...book a plane ticket, land, David picks you up at airport, epic 10 days at retreat with all needs provided, dropped off at airport at end. Paradis is amazing...every meal was absolutely delicious. Accommodated my gluten/soy/processed food free, no added sugar, vegan lifestyle with ease. She was very connected to me the whole time so very tuned into needs/feelings...knows when I need a cup of tea/cacao, when I need to hear her play music and sing, when to sit with me, clear energy, take a walk down to the river with me. David as well. They make a perfect team.

It's not all about the medicine. I would argue that half is medicine and half is the energy surrounding you while taking the medicines. Their energies are a perfect compliment to the medicines. They operate from 100% unconditional love. David's guided meditations before ceremonies are key. The grounds where you take the medicine is literally heaven on Earth...breathtaking views, amazing landscape, comfortable places to relax outside and enjoy the perfect weather, dog/cat/bunnies playing with each other, surrounded by a beautiful stone wall so you have a sense of safety while on medicine (not that the town/people are threatening in the least...more so you don't have to worry about a random person walking up to you so can really experience medicine to the fullest). I suggest laying on the grass under the shade tree while taking San Pedro to intensify the beautiful connection with "everything." The suites feel inviting, bed is huge, private bathroom with hot shower...it's great having all that close.

The common house is very homey with a fireplace in the middle. Great place to relax when the sun goes down. During days not involving San Pedro you have the option to hang out and relax or go on little adventures with David/Paradis like hikes to spiritual places, shopping at local markets, going to spa, etc. I would suggest these little adventures. Had a blast, appreciated Peru even more, and they buy you lunch/dinner at some amazing restaurants. I will be returning to Munay Medicine with my dad and brother at some point in the near future. I love David and Paradis dearly for the experience and transformation. If you are reading this and considering a San Pedro/Ayahuasca retreat look no further...you will be satisfied beyond belief and thankful you picked the comfortable inviting carefree energy of Munay Medicine in lieu of a jungle retreat...which reminds me...no nuisance bugs/insects like mosquitoes at Munay...this retreat is literally perfect in every way! Seriously!

A Sacred Experience in a Sacred Place

by Christopher Vinvi on 9/16/2017

Finding Munay Medicine was a blessing. Having suffered many setbacks and heartbreaks over the past few years during what I would say was the toughest time in my life, I was fortunate enough to have found this retreat that has forever changed my life. From the minute you arrive, you know that you are in a very special place and are about to embark on a transformational journey. One that will have you looking very deep within yourself. It was one of the few times that I’ve ever truly experienced what it feels like to not be judged and accepted and loved, just the way I am. Judgement does not exist here. David and his team are full of love and warmth and treated everyone like family. David’s knowledge, insight and empathy are abundant. I couldn’t ask for better teachers. Thank you David, Ken, Paradise, Marina and Tracie for the love you share - It was an experience that I will forever hold close and I am looking forward to many more. I feel blessed to have found Munay Medicine. Everyone and everything that I experienced here is sacred. Thank you again to the team at Munay Medicine that I now call family. See you very soon!

Someday you’ll look back and know exactly why it had to happen.

by Nikki Oberholzer on 9/8/2017

From the moment I arrived at Munay Medicine I could feel the frequency all around me - It was then that I knew I was at a very special place. There was a reassuring calmness about it that centered me and a stillness that quietened my mind. A sacred energy then guided me along a breathtaking 10 day journey of self discovery. Munay Medicine gave me the wings to fly by creating a safe and peaceful environment in which I could connect with the plant medicine. The San Pedro grounded my spirit deep into the earth and Ayahuasca gave me a profound awareness of myself that triggered feelings too deep and mysterious for words. If you are reading this now then you are one step closer to a life changing experience. If it doesn’t change you, it will no doubt wake you up! Let go and trust that David and Paradise will love you with a love that is more than love. I strongly urge you to go dance with their beautiful vibrations in the Scared Valley and let the rhythm of the medicine set your soul free. 

A place to call home

by Chere Di Boscio on 7/31/2017

I initially intended to come here for a ten day retreat. As soon as I entered the gate, I was greeted by two beautiful women and gleefully pounced on by what seemed to be a character from the Muppets - Mutley, the dog - and felt immediately welcome. Spending time with David, the owner, I learned so much about the nature of consciousness and what really matters in the world. Our discussions, video nights, and excursions were truly life-changing; so much so, ten days wasn't nearly enough. Several weeks later, I am still here, still learning, and deeply grateful for the opportunity to expand my joy and awareness at Munay Medicine. It's a truly special, life enriching place - words simply cannot capture the wonderful experiences that await you here.

Profound lessons in the Sacred Valley

by Mark Boehm on 7/29/2017

I attended Munay Medicine in July 2017, and it's an experience I'll never forget. The tambo is beautifully designed, exceptionally comfortable and surrounded by breathtaking scenery. I have some familiarity with plant medicines, and can attest to the quality of the Ayahuasca, and particularly the Huachuma, which is prepared on-site with a lot of care and respect. I had some of my strongest and most profound experiences here - it's an environment truly suited to healing and learning. What really makes this place special, however, is the dedication that David and Paradise have for the guests. David has clearly undergone some kind of spiritual transformation, and it's contagious - in the best possible way. He's an unending source of unconventional wisdom and has crafted an environment of trust and openness that compliments the work perfectly. Paradise is a natural empath, a great cook, an expert on food, plants and the local culture, but above all an excellent companion. Leaving Munay Medicine I'm not the same person; stronger, healthier, more mature and somehow more prepared for everything I must face in the future. I consider everyone I've met here a teacher and a friend, and I look forward to the next time I get to see these wonderful people.

Home away from home

by Regina Grant on 5/8/2017

My husband and I feel blessed to have found Munay Medicine Retreat. This was our second visit with only seven months in between. Situated in the Sacred Valley of Peru, the vibrational energy at Munay Medicine allows you to become truly open to self discovery and transformation. This is further enhanced by the love and encouragement shown by David and Paradise, our great guides / friends. We are grateful for the experience we've had at Munay as we continue our journey. We look forward to making this an annual trip for many years to come!

Do Yourself a Favor

by Simon Haworth on 3/12/2017

I went to Munay for a couple reasons. I won't go into detail here but I was a frustrated, often depressed and very lost 30 something year old. Physically and spiritually. A friend recommended it as an alternative to traditional therapy and medicine so I went without much planning or information on plant medicines. What an experience they offer. David and his team are fantastic. They're skilled, knowledgeable and supportive. Each bring love, calm and individual wisdom from experience and deep insight. There is no pressure, no criticism, no judgement. You can do none, some or all of what they offer and you will get something out of it I promise. And, disclaimer, I went as a meat eating, healthily skeptic, educated person who lives in call-it-like-you-see-it New York. Go. Whatever your problem(s) are big or small, or if you just need a break or some inspiration, you will not regret it. The food is great (remember, NYer here, we're picky) because it's super healthy and fresh - half the stuff they grow themselves. The rooms are clean, light and comfortable, there's hot water and good Internet. The location is superb; your nestled in between these gorgeous mystical mountains in the sacred valley dappled in sunshine. If it rains just go inside to a warm fire and some proper hot cocoa that warms the body and spirit. They do laundry, take you on local trips and know the community around them. Oh and there's a sweet dog Muttley, Sebastian the cat and bunny rabbits. Just go. 100% worth it. They will take care of you. The hardest part is leaving believe me.

 

Highly energetic charge place and people

by Darren Lee on 3/2/2017

For many years, I'm stuck in a situation of "dark night of the soul" after a period of spiritual awakening and was on a journey to seek answers. I was guided to go to Munay Medicine via intuition and I'm glad that I chosen this place. Being an energy sensitive person, you can feel the energy, this place is peaceful, highly charge and I don't really feel like stepping out into anywhere else. I was treated like family and especially thanks to David, Ken, Marina and Paradise for giving me a lot of love, love is everywhere here from them. I have wonderful experience from the ceremonies and most importantly, I thank Ayahuasca for the encouragement and for showing who I am, giving me the answers I much needed. Given a chance to choose again, I will definitely go back to this place.

Exceeded all expectations

by Shane Brown on 2/5/2017

I was looking for a retreat that wasn't a place for 18 year old Spring Breakers trying to get 'high' on the latest fad, and instead was a place for those seeking to understand more about themselves, consciousness and the greater world around them. Munay Medicine is that place. You couldn't ask for more welcoming hosts. David, Tracey and Ken are excellent guides; they are incredibly knowledgeable of the plant medicines and I appreciate that they were fairly hands off allowing me to focus inward, though they were there at my side intuitively, if I needed support or guidance. In addition there are two lovely volunteers at Munay Medicine, I really appreciated having them around for support as well. The Ayahuasca and San Pedro are vastly different medicines though somewhat complimentary to each other, I'm so happy that I found a place in Munay Medicine that allows me to explore both. I reflect on the teachings daily and I can't wait to come back and further my journey with Munay Medicine. You wont be disappointed and I encourage you to book as soon as you can!

Munay is a rare gem!

by Katica Nikic on 1/24/2017

Once you've stumbled upon this rare gem of a retreat your only regret will be that you didn't attend sooner and your only wish will be to return again and again! When you arrive at Munay you will find yourself in an amazing setting with beautiful accommodations, even more beautiful people, delicious food and incredible medicine journeys. You will be greeted with warmth, acceptance, patience and a dash of great humour! David, Tracie, Ken, Paradise and Marina are as supportive, nurturing and grounding as the earth beneath you and they are as loving, accepting and magical as the heavens above you! You will not be disappointed with your experience here. In fact, I would say that attending a retreat at Munay is the best investment you can make in yourself, in your personal growth/development and in your well-being. It's an experience that will leave you forever changed; one that not only benefits you but will benefit the world around you! David, Tracie, Ken, Paradise, Marina and all the Munay Medicine has to offer to its guests is as sacred as the valley that surrounds them:) I cannot thank you enough and I look forward to seeing you all again soon :)

Already planning our next visit

by Victoria on 1/17/2017

 

The location of Munay Medicine is magical and sacred and the energy is of a high vibration. I can't thank David, Tracie, Ken, Paradise, and Marina enough for how they helped me and my husband. We had been suppressing painful emotions the past four years dealing with our son's medical issues. After this retreat, not only did we release a lot of emotional baggage, we returned home stronger, more energized, and ready to confront any issues with new optimism and tenacity. We are already planning our return to this beautiful place.

 

The best vacation and the most hard-won soulwork at once—how is that possible? Munay is magic. :)

by Layne Tisdel Martin on 1/13/2017

Go to Munay. You will enjoy beautiful and comfortable accommodations in a magical part of the world; delicious, healthy foods; and best of all, the kindest and most connected people imaginable. Everyone genuinely cares about the well-being of every guest, and most importantly to me, they understand that working with these medicines is a very individualised experience, so they work with you to make sure that you get the most possible out of it (instead of approaching the experience as a one-size-fits-all journey, like some of the other ayahuasca retreats seem to do). The only thing that ever caused me any worry was the difference in approach to preparation that David and I have—his left brain is sometimes a bit turned off for my comfort (not answering medical questions in advance, etc.) and my left brain is sometimes a bit too turned on (being convinced I need to know the day before if I'm going to the spa tomorrow, which doesn't really matter all that much in the end, does it?). ;) So if you are a planner like me, rest assured that your medical forms are absolutely read in advance and if you don't hear from anyone about them, it means there aren't any problems. You are in better hands than you could possibly realise in advance, and every staff member and every volunteer genuinely cares about you. David's meditations are deeply calming and insightful. Ken's warm spirit and knowledge of the plants is fun, inspiring, and instantly puts you at ease. Tracie is the most comforting, centering, and healing presence I may have ever been blessed enough to encounter. And she cooks a mean spread. :) Be warned that you'll get stuck missing her every day for the rest of your life. Paradise is a buoyant spirit full of light and laughter, and if you don't get to try her lime cheesecake, you're missing out! Marina is such a peaceful and insightful person and wonderful to talk to. You'd be very fortunate to have even one such special person on a journey like this, and all of them at once is almost too good to be true. But it is true! And they make what could be a scary experience something that will truly change your life. These medicines instantly aright your priorities and show you the way that your ego and all of the other various parts of your psyche are working, so that you are in charge of them, instead of the other way around. And in such a wonderful setting with such wonderful people to care for you, the medicines can do their best work unencumbered by confusion or discomfort. You must go. :)

Response from David 

Seems I put the ball down on this Layne, not once but twice! Sorry it is a good wake up call and you are probably right about me and my right brain. However thanks for still giving us 5 stars and a lovely review. I though must try harder.

Welcome to the first day of the rest of your life!

by Sophia Simone on 1/12/2017

My very first medicine retreat ever. I heard a calling to go to Peru for what I was looking for. First search webpage was Munay Medicine. It looked and felt perfect. The very next day I made a deposit for December 2016. Nope, I had no idea what just happened but knew Gaia wanted me there. To be honest I knew I had a lot to work through and indeed I did. A short overview; there were a lot of laughing, crying, stomach pain, cold sweat, hot sweat, and purging! I mean, lots of purging. Thank goodness the staff were so amazingly helpful, accommodating, super friendly, and loving. Yes, that's you; Tracy, Ken, Paradise and David. Thank you all from the bottom of my heart. The result? Okay, sounds kinda cheesy but true...I came home about 5 pounds lighter. My body felt lighter and healthier. Emotionally, I feel more centered and optimistic of my future. I'm a lot more calm and peaceful. Spiritually, I do feel an expansion in consciousness and a knowing that all is perfect just the way life is unfolding. But more importantly, I feel secure knowing that I matter in this world. I matter to me...and that is enough...for now. Oh, can I just say that that was the best Christmas holiday of my life. I was blessed to have it with some of the most amazingly loving people on this plant. Thank you guys so much! The quote; "Welcome to the first day of the rest of your life," was made to me on my very first medicine day of Wachuma, by none other than David Walton, himself. I couldn't agree more. And so it is...

Amazing Experience

by Stephen Koperberg on 12/19/2016

I took part in a retreat at Munay Medicine back in August. It was one of the best things I have ever done. Firstly, the location is stunning. I love the Sacred Valley and David's retreat centre is about 500m down a dirt road from one of its small towns. He provides very comfortable and clean accommodation inside a rock walled space which I believe to be ideal for retreat. Looking out from this lovely space you see mountains including the spectacular Apu Pitusuray.

The medicine provided by Tracy and Ken, and their knowledge of it, was top shelf. I particularly gelled with the San Pedro. I cannot overstate how wonderful my daytime San Pedro experiences were. Sitting on the grass, dazzled by the beauty of the background mountains, going inside to take a hot shower, meditating into wonderful spiritual experiences while lying in a super comfy bed, presented with chocolate coated strawberries etc at a time I had forgotten about food but for which my body was grateful for. I'm calling the second SP day, the best day of my life. Another bonus is you have freedom at Munay. For example, after the Ayahuasca starts doing its work, you can be escorted back to your room if you are more comfortable their. Having your own bed and bathroom can make the experience more comfortable and Tracy will check you're ok if that's what you decide to do.

On days off, you are close enough to visit interesting towns with walking, ruins and shopping available. You have your own space with the rooms and also a shared space with a fireplace, lounge, dining table and kitchen, where you can share delicious, nutritious meals along with your experiences. And of course the lovely yard with its views. I am truly sold on the effectiveness of these medicines. However, set and setting are so important, and I keep realizing how the combination of a safe, comfortable space surrounded in beauty, and the welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable team of David, Tracy and Ken, help create the ideal location to take a retreat. I highly recommend.

 

My Road Trip

by Peter Carr on 12/10/2016

If you truly believe things happen for a reason, in the right place at the right time then this was mine. Many paths were taken but all lead me here. 54 years I have been making this journey to find something that I locked away when I was 5. Welcome home me. My journey continues on but now I'm whole again. My special thanks go to the guys, David, Tracey and Ken at Munay retreat for the love, care and support they provided, also the medicines and ceremonies which were for me like big new road signs for the journey that is me and what lays ahead. Its like a million piece jigsaw puzzle has been given to me to re do without a picture on the lid, and the best bit now, is I get to chose the picture. : )

Thank you all, Namaste.

Spiritual sanctuary in a magical land

by Nonka Tonchava on 12/2/2016

Munay medicine is nesteled in the Sacred Valley close to the river that leads the way to Macchu Picchu. The powerful mountains around connects you to a point inside that you cannot help but feel peace. I have spent 5 unforgettable days in this place, where besides the utmost comfort of the home feel I was treated with soo much warmth from Tracy, David and Ken. Now I believe I found new friends that made difference in my life. I will tell you this much. If you have reached my review there is calling inside of you to connect and that calling cannot be ignored. Allow yourself to experience the magic of the powerful plants of the jungle and the kind and loving spirit of Wachuma. You are in the best hands you could be with Tracy, David and Ken. They are dedicated, loving and caring, with profound knowledge and experience. You will feel at home in a foreign land you would never think was soo close to your heart. Keep an eye on the mountain across the porch, you might be able to spot some magic. Thank you David, Tracy and Ken my experience with you was unforgettable.

Life Changing

by Mick Labrinth on 11/12/2016

The most fantastic time had by all, Munay Medicine retreat and all the people involved David, Ken and Tracy have given a life changing experience with the plant medicines and meditation. I would recommend that anyone looking for a spiritual experience or for healing (helped me with my M/S) this is a must visit. WOW Mick.

Beautiful safe place for our first San Pedro experience!

by Irene Lambers on 10/25/2016

A few months ago me and my boyfriend travelled South America. At the end of our trip, we looked for a place to have our first San Pedro experience before heading back home. We looked around and talked to a few people in the sacred valley, since it was our first time and we wanted everything to feel good. David and his people welcomed us with such a warm heart that we immediatly felt safe. It didnt take us long to decide that this was the place were we wanted to be. In the middle of nature, beautiful surroundings, and a big private area to stroll around and no-one to distract us from the experience. Ken was there for us throughout the day with whatever we needed, he is truly a lovely amazing person to have around. And not to forget, the dogs were great company too! Overall we had the best possible San Pedro experience and I would go back here in a heartbeat when around. Definitly a recommendation to all!

A Master in Hiding

by Ahmad Gilani on 10/13/2016

Plenty of retreats around. Each has good points, weak points. But if you have a real need, a real challenge of life, a real illness or problem to work on, something you cannot overcome on your own, something that has drained and devastated you, perhaps for years and decades, then please consider David. His spiritual status, his humor, his deep desire to help each individual with his full, undivided individual attention, are RARE. He put his heart, his soul, his considerable powers into helping me, recognizing a fellow human in desperate need. I felt loved, protected, supported. The answers that came, the help that came, am still struggling to gather, understand, apply. But he removed a mount everest sized problem from my life, in the first couple of hours of the first ceremony of the first day. AND HE SUFFERED FOR ME. THE PROBLEM WAS SO BIG. AND WHEN I TRIED TO THANK HIM HE JUST LAUGHED AND SAID WE ARE IN IT TOGETHER AND IT WAS HIS PRIVILEGE TO SERVE ME. My single star is to attract readers to the fact that giving stars is wholly inadequate in this case. But if you are looking for some new experiences, new perspectives, good medicine, satisfying shows, then sure there are less expensive options around, who might serve you equally. David Walton is for when you need heavy duty help on your side. Blessings to all, Ahmad Gilani

Response from David.

Thank-you Ahmad for this wonderful review, I know it comes from the heart and I really do appreciate it. However I do not want people to believe that I am a miracle worker. I work with the plants and they are certainly powerful healers but this doesn't mean that everyone that comes to Munay can benefit in the ways you did. I certainly hope they can, but there can be no guarantees.

Walking through a dream

by Julian Pedersen on 10/12/2016

Munay medicine is situated in paradise, distinguishly under the watchful eye of the apu spirit Pitusiray. It provides a sanctuary for self transformation, learning to know thyself, to take guidance from your heart and soul but most importantly, to understand the energies of love around us from our sacred creator. David, Tracy and Ken are not only a incredibly professional team but take an a Aura of family virtues, making a comfortable environment to discover ones personal legend and self. David in particulary teaches from a cross disciplinary approach, intergrating a variety of eastern and western thought and science, but most importantly, he teaches to look within and to find eternal love. This retreat changed my life

The wake up call I needed

by Mark O'Donnell on 9/25/2016

I came to Munay for a 10 day retreat to get away from the everyday noise that is London. Somewhere I have lived my whole life. I had been drawn to 'ayahuasca' for about a year or so prior to finding Munay Medicine and being 29 (about to turn 30) this felt like the right place at the right time to get the answers I was looking for. I feel like I got exactly what I needed and can't wait to see how my story unfolds from here. I've even gone to the extreme of joining an 8 week meditation course in London to get me in the swing of things and can't wait to see where that takes me. A massive Thankyou to Ken, Tracie and David who take pride in making sure you have everything you need during your stay and to Shaman, Frankie and Sumo for the nice walks by the river most days. Will keep in touch.

Freedom for Self Expression

by David Wilcox on 9/13/2016

Walking through the gates to Munay Medicine you are greeted not only as a guest, but as a member of the family. David, Ken and Tracie are extremely grounded and knowledgeable individuals, and I found comfort in talking to them about anything from theoretical physics all the way to alien conspiracy theories. The rooms, grounds and surrounding walking trails are extremely comfortable and beautiful and the vegetarian food is of a quality that I've yet to match during my travels. The medicines are administered in controlled doses at first, but once you find your feet with the plants, the option to increase or decrease can be discussed openly. For those who are looking for a place to explore themselves and the medicines without external influences, whist having the freedom to be who you want to be in the moment, look no further. This is the place for you.

A Journey of love

by Thomas Hart on 9/9/2016

From the moment my wife and I opened the gate at Munay Medicine retreat we knew we had come to the right place. The setting is breath-taking with majestic views in every direction. The staff are welcoming, flexible and accommodating. The food is home cooked with the clients' needs graciously cared for. The rooms are spacious, clean and aesthetically pleasing. All of this is just the beginning of a timeless journey provided by David, Tracey and Ken, our guides. My wife took part in 2 ceremonies that left her full of love. I was provided with 3 ceremonies and I came away with 3 distinct experiences that thoroughly cleansed the doors of perception (apologies Mr Huxley). The retreat thoroughly provided fulfillment of three specific intentions chosen before day one. Previous to the retreat I had a regular meditation practice that was used for stress reduction and equanimity. Now there is a mission to bring this inner peace to the world and the universe using skills that have been honed at Munay.

Above and Beyond

by Andres Rivera on 9/6/2016

Truly one of the best times of my life, from beginning to end. When first being picked up from the airport, David made us feel as if we have known him for years. NO awkwardness at all and David is quite funny. Medicine workers Ken and Tracy are wizards when it comes to their medicine and go above and beyond to make sure you are absolutely informed and comfortable with what you are going to take. The Munay Residence itself is absolutely breathtaking, nestled in a quiet area away from the hussle and bussle of the larger city. It is a rock-toss away from the Andes Mountains. At night time, you are completely showered with the presence of stars and the Milky Way right above you. David himself is wise and has a great brain to pick. Not to mention an awesome housekeeper who makes sure the property is nice and clean for the people staying each and everyday. It is my hope that everyone can experience this life changing retreat with these powerful medicines. Namaste. Blessings.

Peruvian Paradise

by Jj Forster Webb on 8/7/2016

Hidden down a dirt road in a small town, past strawberry fields lies a hidden oasis. Safely tucked in behind high walls you will find David, Tracy, Ken & Tao lovingly caring for their guests as they usher them through their personal journeys with the various plant medicines offered. They each bring their unique personality and life experience to Munay Medicine which blend together so harmoniously I instantly felt as though I was a valued member of the family they have created. My experience was in many ways more rewarding than I imagined it would be. I sincerely hope to go back again and again! If you are considering Munay Medicine I would not hesitate in urging you to go. David is more then happy to discuss any questions you may have no matter how trivial they may seem, you need only ask! Go and enjoy the life changing experience that awaits you!

Fantastic Experience

by Bill McPhillips on 8/6/2016

I have attended 7 other Sacred Medicine Retreats both in the Jungle and in the Andes. While they all had their good points I was very impressed with Munay Medicine. They have their very own Wachuma cook, who really knows his stuff, making much better Wachuma then you get in the markets. The owner and facilitator, David and Tracie, respectively, are relaxed with no agendas other than to assist you in maximizing the benefit of your time there, within the limits you are comfortable with. They do have a schedule they use as a guideline but are happy to vary it according to your needs. Very good Ayahuasca as well, in an exceptionally tranquil and quiet area of the Sacred Valley of the Incas. If you want to talk about accommodations, I can't say enough!! Munay Medicine has the most comfortable lodging and rooms I have ever experienced in Peru. Crisp clean linens, immaculate rooms, thick full fluffy bath sheets and full extra thick box springs topped with a luxurious mattress that made me think it is time to replace my mattress at home. The water throughout the retreat runs 24 hours a day, both hot and cold, with on site laundry and daily maid service - unless you prefer it only on request. This is a place to get in touch with yourself in luxury. Who says it has to be primitive to reach out to your soul?

Life changing experience

by Shawn Van Gundy on 8/2/2016

Among the shadows of the Andean peaks that create the mystical sacred valley lies a magical oasis. Munay medicine is more than a retreat center, it is a sanctuary that embraces its visitors with love and benevolence. It is a place designed for healing, renewing, and rebirth. David and his attentive team, Tracie and Ken, immerse this magical setting with the beauty of their loving and gentle spirits. The support and guidance provided by David and his team integrates seamlessly with the plant medicine. As a doctor of divinity ;), David offers years of training and life experience with spirituality and healing. His meditation instruction, energetic healing, along with his willingness to give from the heart, makes his presence truly divine. Tracie's gentle spirit, along with her wisdom and experience with Ayahuasca, is clearly present as she creates and holds space during ceremony. Her care and support continues beyond the ceremonies with her experience and knowledge in counseling and drug rehabilitation. She is also an amazing cook who prepares and serves delicious vegetarian meals during the retreat. Ken, in pursuit of a degree in metaphysics, is a master at making and serving Wachuma. He naturally uses his loving energy and attention to detail to create a unique and powerful medicine. His hard work and willingness to serve makes his presence a true gift to the retreat. Among all of this wisdom and knowledge exists a lighthearted spirit of joy and humor. A spirit that allows transformation and change to emerge from within, free from the perception of work. Munay Medicine is an experience that has changed my life forever. I am truly grateful it found me, and I highly recommend it to anyone considering a plant medicine retreat.

Munay Medicine is the best!

by Ryan Bobber on 7/24/2016

Great vacation, awesome location, David, Tracy, and Ken we're very helpful and supportive throughout the process. The room were very nice, the food was good, I would most definitely recommend to anyone looking for a quality over all else.

Outstanding experience

by Aysen Gultekin on 6/30/2016

If you are looking for a friendly professional retreat center then look no further, Munay is the place for Love :) I had already been to Iquitos last year and I wanted to go to a center where I can drink medicine and do little bit sightseeing around Scared Valley Cusco area. After researching it, I have found this little gem hidden in the skirts of the beautiful sacred mountains. The location is magical. I mean it doesnt get more zen than this. You can practise mindfulness all day and be in the middle of untouched nature. David, the owner, is more than happy to take you the historical sites like Inkan museum and hot springs, various markets. The place is also only 2 hours drive to Machu Picchu which was an amazing experience for me. As for the medicine, medicine man Ken :) definitely knows what he is doing, he is sensible and an expert in wachumi. Not to mention about beautiful vegetarian food prepared by Tracie. I felt like I was home, this is somewhere I would definitely visit again, thumbs up.

Divine Intervention

by Zulf Ali on 5/30/2016

There had been a pull to Peru for as long as I can remember, no idea where it came from and why so strong. When David set up his retreat in Peru, it gave me the perfect excuse to travel to see my long time friend and mentor. As if by magic, a gap of three weeks appeared in my otherwise full life, I booked my tickets and decided to take my middle son (20) with me. Peru was to be a journey of self discovery, to find myself as i felt lost. I was becoming "what I do", rather than who I set out to be. Had lost my connection with my son, taking him with me would help me rediscover the joy of my child, and to really see him. Grand ambitions, yes it was, and boy did it deliver! The experience from start to finish was genuine and heartfelt. David, Tracie, Max and Ken are totally amazing people with depth of character, experience that I have rarely seen. They created a safe space for personal exploration, deconstruction, revelation and growth. All that I sought out, I found. It is an amazing place with amazing people. I look to the day I can return.

Fantastic

by Emil Izunagbara on 3/23/2016

Thank you and everyone at Munay Medicine "tambo" for an unforgettable and deep experiential milestone on this seeker's journey. Please extend my sincerest gratitude to Tracy and her delicious deserts and wholesome breakfast nourishments, Max and his free spirited magnetism and deviously potent and gifted alchemical concoctions, Ken and his gentle guidance and assistance during those powerful inner journeys and of course to you David and your delicious humour, even when supposedly shaken by disturbing visions the British accented "bloody hell" remark imbued with surprise yet vibrating in humour was at once delightful and impacting.

Peace, nature, calm & good people.

by Andrew Kim on 3/23/2016

Great experience - caring and nice people. You will be well taken care of : good clean food and insightful conversations. The rooms are very clean and well-appointed. Warm alpaca blankets are on hand for late night sessions around the fire-pit.

Rest & Exploration

by Linley Barba on 8/22/2015

Besides having potent plant medicine, Munay really provides the other crucial aspect to the retreat experience. They have excellent rooms, and fresh, wholesome food. So, whether you are just learning more about yourself, or dealing with more in depth healing, that is all that needs to be on your mind. It’s all the comforts of home (and a classy one at that) surrounded by the breathtaking mountains of the Sacred Valley.

Munay Medicines Resort

by Harold on 8/19/2015

Munay Medicines Resort in beautiful, energizing Huaran, Sacred Valley, Peru. It’s amazing how the universe works. Not long ago I met a couple of very lovely ladies, Ingrid and Lisa, who were house sitting for my neighbor. We soon became fast friends and I was invited to visit the country of their residence…Peru. During their stay we discussed many topics but one in particular seemed to really capture my interest. They were discussing means of maintaining good health naturally which included Plant Medicines. To my surprise they both were well versed in much of the process. After the ladies returned home we continued to communicate and it was recommended that during my upcoming visit I consider visiting their friend, David, at his Munay Medicines Resort located in the Sacred Valley of Peru. What a wonderful and pleasant surprise. He and I became good buddies from when we first met at Cuzco airport. Again, thanks for coming to pick me up David. Your insight into the spiritual plane is something I will always be appreciative of. You seemed to have such a wide array of experiences to pull just the most appropriate answer or resolution from…my friend. You’re the only person I know who builds a fire in the large semi-open fireplace and never needed more than 1 match…night after night. The openness and flexibility of you and your organization is something I truly appreciate and found useful. During my stay I became aware of high professionalism and friendship not only from David but from Meredith the very lovely young lady who planned and prepared the tremendous meals for us for the entire month of my stay. Not only did I enjoy her preparations of meals but she allowed me to escort her on several of her every single day trips to the market for the freshest organic produce…on the planet. The meals and her particular spirit are something I still miss today. I really don’t know why but for whatever reason, I always found myself much more grounded after conversing with Meredith. That normally doesn’t happen to me…very special. Maxwell who in my opinion is the Guru of certain Plant Medicines had energies like none other. I learned so much from discussions with him. His expertise in plant Medicines and his connections within that world gave us the best that Peru had to offer. Max would invite specialists to come visit us and we’d have growing open discussions and often the use of their specialized Plant Medicines. Max would begin speaking and I became a sponge just soaking up whatever his topic of the moment was…especially at the dinner table. I’m still amazed at the knowledge base available to us. There was a visiting client who was very advanced in the usage of Plant Medicines. She was into many things health related such as Yoga, pro Hula Hoops, Meditation, etc. Bianca as it turns out is now part of Munay Medicines and their growth toward becoming the best within the Sacred Valley. I look forward to learning a bit about Kundalini Yoga from Bianca. A very memorable event was when four of us…David, Max, Bianca, and I took a trip to Lares hot mineral springs approximately another mile higher in the Andes mountains. What a beautiful and healthy experience that was. Anyway, from fasting to the good eats to whole soul cleansing and absorption of whole live foods to re-educating self in health related topics I am feeling exceptionally healthy and highly energized. Tennis anyone? Harold

Wachuma + Stars

by Amaru Inti on 8/19/2015

Aloha, I recently enjoyed a session with Wachuma at the Munay Medicine retreat. After asking the universe for a good connection, I met Bianca from the retreat at plaza de armas on my very first day here in Cusco, Peru. We exchanged contacts and soon got send some information and advice about the preperation for the medicine and how to get to the location. The next night we were already arriving at the Munay Medicine retreat in Huaran, located in the beautiful and magical sacred valley Urubamba. Two friends of mine (first timers) and me were welcomed warmly, picked up from the bus stop and guided by Bianca across a gently flowing creek into the cricket and frog soundscape of this wonderful place. After introducing us to the other residents of the retreat and making us familiar with the location, we were offered the well made Wachuma tea. So far it was the best I’ve ever had. Throughout the night it was possible to have deep conversations with the other participants, do activities like singing in a group, resting at the fireplace, going into a Maloka (quiet harmonious room) to meditate, walking around the beautiful garden and/or just being stunned by the star ancestors and the bright broad milkyway above (there is almost no light pollution out there). We were always looked after and assisted by the sitters, who chopped up amaizing fruit and prepared a soup for us (all included). The two friends of mine were able to enjoy a very positive first encounter with the medicine, and I also was very statisfied with the work. The possibility of digging deeper is given and there is many possibilities to expand ones consciousness even more, if requested. The Munay Medicine retreat offers a lot of space, even small apartments to rent. A lot of wood, hammocks, sofas, soft carpets and a fireplace make the place vibrate in a comfortable frequency. All in all I can highly recommend to visit this retreat, as for beginners as well as for advanced practicioners with the medicine. Seeing like-minded people putting so much passion and effort in spreading healing plant information in human consciousness makes my heart feel warm and light. Thank you Dave, Max and Bianca, for running this project. Love Love Love Amaru

Great first experience!

by Theresa on 8/16/2015

I was lucky enough to meet Bianca and get invited to a special Super Blood Moon San Pedro ceremony… it was my first experience trying any sort of psychedelic or with any of the Andean plant medicines around. They were very knowledgeable and friendly and respected the fact that it was my first time. I felt very comfortable with the people, and felt that Max and Bianca would be able to help if anything started to worry me. As the eclipse happened the stars came out, and as I watched them dance, I had a feeling wash over me that this was where I should be, and moving to Peru was the right choice. Thank you guys for a wonderful experience!

 

These reviews are copied from 'Aya Advisor' that is an independant website covering Ayahuasca retreats worldwide.
Munay Medicine have no way of influencing the content on Aya Advisor.
Please follow the link to see the original reviews.

Reviews prior to September 2017 can also be found on Retreat Guru